top of page

Finding Motivation

Updated: May 22, 2020

Hey all!


I'm sure you can infer by the title that writers' block has hit me hard these past couple weeks. The state of the world has thrown us all for a loop, and a very strange loop at that.


"The Inner Game of Music" by Barry Green


Something that I've noticed in myself and others is a sense of defeat and helplessness. More so than boredom, these feelings are responsible for these pits in our stomachs. It feels as though everything is up in the air. I really feel for all my musicians that are devastated by the canceling of many short-term projects. I myself have really struggled to keep everything together and keep practicing.





However, to quote Frozen 2 (haha) it is important that we control what we can when everything else feels out of control. Here are some tips to get yourself up and moving.


1) Create a routine. It doesn't have to be hour-by-hour, but set a precedent for yourself. Wake up at the same time, go to bed at a REASONABLE time (I know you 4am people are out there), and overall try to form a sense of structure.


2) Pick new, small, technical goals like hitting that C or learning those 16 bars. Film yourself. Write stuff down. Give yourself something to be proud of.


3) Talk to people. Whether this eating with your family or face-timing your friends, talking will relieve a lot of the stress and uncertainty you're feeling.


4) If you find yourself uninterested in hobbies that you used to love, try new ones.


5) Share music. Find songs and make playlists for friends. If you're wanting to go a step further, there is a free website called Noteflight that allows you to compose anything. It functions similarly to google docs. You can view others' public work and share yours as well. It's a lot of fun!


Most importantly, do what makes you happy. Stay on the lookout for others and check in on people.


Stay (truthfully) informed and stay safe. I hope to be writing more soon.


This week's #songforthesoul is Eric Whitacre's "Sleep". One of my choirs had planned to sing this stunning piece last month and I'm heartbroken that we won't be able to. But, this cover by Voce8 has been getting me through.


Thanks and happy reading,

Arden

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page