top of page

Pros of being an Instrumentalist

Updated: May 22, 2020

About two years ago, I asked my dad if I could take out his mother's guitar. He's actually a bassist and guitarist, so I was lucky to have a teacher like him within reach. Over the next few months, I tried a few cords and wrote some songs before deciding to make this a hobby.


I kept it in my room and have been playing on and off since then. Besides the cello in 4th grade, I've honestly had no real experience playing an instrument (and I can't exactly say I'm proud of my performances as a cellist). Trying out this guitar seemed like a fun challenge.


This whole concept of different instruments and expression mediums got me thinking. I understand that adaptability is immensely important in the music world. But, how does this adaptability affect musicianship and skill? Put simply- does playing an instrument improve your performance as a vocalist, or perhaps on another instrument? I interviewed a pool of multi-talented musicians to find out.



 


Theresa Monteleone, Senior


Instruments -

Guitar, violin, piano, ukulele, mandolin

Voice part -

Soprano


Theresa has been playing guitar and violin for almost ten years and singing both classical/jazz repertoire for four. Previously, she has been a member of the St. Charles youth orchestra, St. Louis All-Suburban Orchestra, Civic Orchestra, and was awarded the honor of two gold medals at the Missouri State Solo and Ensemble Festival her sophomore/junior years. She is an accomplished vocalist as well- having performed in the highest level All-Suburban Honor choir in the area.


I've worked with Theresa in both classical and jazz vocal ensembles and she continues to astound me with her impeccable musicianship and artistry. She is sensationally gifted with a clear, refined tone that is regularly featured on jazz vocal solos. I greatly admire her improvisational skills, confidence, humor, and neverending drive to improve her craft.


Q: Has playing an instrument given you any advantage as a vocalist and vice versa?


A: "Yes, 100%. Playing guitar and violin especially has helped me develop an ear and control my voice/sing in a key very easily. I don't find solfege helpful because I'm able to hear and visual[ize] the violin already and know what that sounds like."


Q: Do you have any advice for vocalists thinking of picking up another instrument?


A: "They should 100% do it. It's fun and fulfilling. You become interested (in) the instrument instead of defeated when you fail because you understand music and know how something's supposed to sound, which makes learning the instrument even more enjoyable."


@sammyhildebrand

Charlie Foy, Senior

(Right)


Instruments -

Trombone


Voice Part -

Bass


Charlie has been playing concert/jazz trombone for seven years and singing classical, jazz, and musical theater repertoire for two. He is a three-time state gold medalist at the Missouri Solo and Ensemble Festival, two of the three medals awarded for his solo performances. He has performed in numerous academic ensembles, All-Suburban band, Bi-State Honor band, District Honor band, and his school's highly-regarded marching band. As a vocalist, Charlie has performed with the St. Louis Suburban honor choir as well as the phenomenal Missouri All-State choir.


He and I have worked together in a number of shows, groups, and ensembles over the past six years. He is the best example of a true performer with a great deal of talent as both an actor and musician. He is also a true colleague- giving advice and support on a daily basis and striving to improve. I look up to his character and ability alike.


Q: Has playing an instrument given you any advantage as a vocalist and vice versa?


A: "Yes. I feel it has given me a huge advantage when it comes to learning music and adding musicality... Playing an instrument for so long makes things like dynamics come naturally."



Claire Reifschneider, Junior


Instruments-

French horn, mellophone


Voice Part-

Mezzo


Claire is a highly accomplished musician of six years; involved in numerous academic bands, All-Suburban Band, Young Peoples' Symphonic Orchestra (YPSO and YPCO), District honor band, Marching Band, and Bi-State honor band. On top of that, she sang for nearly a decade with the St. Louis Children's Choirs and has received two years' worth of gold medals at the Missouri State Solo and Ensemble Festival.


Claire has been a friend of mine for some time, and she is quite possibly one of the most optimistic people I will ever know. This optimism and genuine kindness extends to the far reaches of her ensembles and reflects in her performances. She is a passionate, true musician and an even truer friend to all.


Q: Has playing an instrument given you any advantage as a vocalist and vice versa?


A: "I first started choir when I was six years old so it acted as my foundation for my involvement in music. As I went on experimenting with new musical instruments such as piano, violin, and eventually the french horn, I already had a background of knowledge and appreciation for music. Choir propelled me to be successful in music, and I will be forever grateful for that, but when it can time to decide where I was going to focus my energy, my dedication to my instrument won me over."


Q: Do you have any advice for vocalists thinking of picking up another instrument?


A: "I would advise any musician who is considering a new avenue to absolutely go for it. It can be a little intimidating for someone who has been exclusively a vocalist to take on the challenges that come with learning a new instrument, but as long as you are genuinely interested in developing that skill, that is all that matters. Having that vocal experience can be especially helpful in the wind instrument family, as hearing your pitches as you’re playing is half the battle."



Dawson Ren, Senior

Instruments -

Piano, Viola


Voice Part -

Bass


With a decade of both piano and vocal training under his belt, Dawson is a force to be reckoned with. His earliest musical accomplishment, at the mere age of ten, was playing at the World Piano Competition in Cincinnati, Ohio. Among countless other milestones, he has performed with the St. Louis Opera Company, SLCC, and numerous academic ensembles. As well, Dawson has competed at a multitude of piano competitions such as MFMC and MMTA, and most recently received All-Suburban honors for jazz piano.


Dawson's dedication and drive mark him as a prime example of what every young musician aspires to be. In my experiences working with him, I have to say that he is not only incredibly talented but humble as well. He is quick to learn new pieces and jumps on any opportunity to teach. A fan-favorite of the music department, Dawson continues to impress.


Q: Has playing an instrument given you any advantage as a vocalist and vice versa?


A: "I think the first time I appreciated how much being an instrumentalist helps in the world of vocal music was during sight-reading my freshman year in choir. Because I had been reading for two hands for several years, reading one line suddenly didn’t seem that hard!


Music theory has also come easier to me as a result of being a pianist, because western music theory is heavily piano-centric.


For the finer points of singing and the musicianship involved, I think being an instrumentalist helps because it lends that element of seriousness and excellence to your playing/singing. I think treating your voice as an instrument.


But while being an instrumentalist will get you far in terms of the theory and mechanics of being a general musician, it can’t replace the craft of being a singer. Your range, your tone — these things all come with specific practice."


Q: Do you have any advice for vocalists thinking of picking up another instrument?


A: "Motivation is always the problem for picking up an instrument. I’d say find something you want to play and don’t give up until you’re able to play it. Once you’re “hooked”, pick up on the technique and craft of playing with dexterity. Exercises can be fun if you enjoy improvement!


If you ever feel like you’re losing the joy of playing that instrument, don’t fear — the musical skills you’re building are important no matter whether you continue or not.


If you’re a vocalist going to college to study performance...I have bad (or depending on your situation, good) news for you. You’re going to have to learn a new instrument anyways...remember what I said about western music theory being dominated by the piano?"



 

I think it's safe to say that I've found the answer to my question. Being an instrumentalist improves your technical skills and thus improves musicianship in every expression. Maybe I'll pick up that guitar again.


I really wanted to highlight my peers in this post more than anything. Interviewing these musicians has been one of my favorite writing experiences. I would like to thank each one of them for being so willing and flexible throughout this process. Charlie, Theresa, Dawson, and Claire- you all are wonderful!


I'll close with this week's #Songforthesoul, "Lionsong" by Gestalt. Gestalt is the University of Florida's a capella group. I am seriously down this a capella rabbit hole.


Thanks and happy reading,

Arden

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page