top of page

Picking Repertoire

Updated: May 22, 2020

Hi there!


I assume you can all relate when I say that quarantine has taken a toll on my motivation (I know that was my last post, the irony). However, with classes wrapping up, it has been easier for me to fall into a routine. I've found that the things getting me through these past few weeks are tiny, itty-bitty projects.


This encompasses everything from making a cup of warm, honey-topped tea to washing off the chalk tree I've had on my bedroom wall since 9th grade. My room has become my preferred place to work and it feels a lot happier in here


I don't know whether it was my lack of socially-powered energy or the times, but during the first two to three weeks of quarantine I didn't sing at all. It was a total shock to my body- going from singing three times a day to absolutely zero. When I finally sang, something was off. There was this weird part of my register that kept cracking. I tried to blame it on my allergies for a week before deciding that I needed to change something. I still am not singing as much as I was two months ago, but it's enough to keep moving forward. My teacher kept saying "your voice is another muscle. It needs to be trained and taken care of just like any other part of your body".


I found that I can apply my "itty-bitty project"mindset to music as well as day-to-day life. I've been wanting to expand my repertoire for a while, and it seemed like the perfect time to start. This ended up giving me more motivation to sing and gave me something to be excited about. I told myself "Okay, one new song at a time", and this has morphed into "Okay, pick one song and work on it for a long time". Both of these mentalities seemed to work, I just found a song that warranted more than a couple days' labor.


The question arises: How do you find songs? How do I know what is right for my voice? What kind of songs are better for college auditions, recitals, or next year's musical? I'll answer these from the perspective of a fellow student and performer. Disclaimer: I am in no means a professional, these are just bits and pieces of things I've picked up in the past seven years.


Finding songs can feel like the bane of a singer's existence. Depending on what you're "shopping" for, different songs evoke different reactions. If we're talking musical theater: while "Part of your World" may be your best song, it's on every internet list of "Songs to NOT sing at college MT auditions". Why is this? It's just overdone. These lists, specifically this one, have saved my life a number of times. I once went into an audition with one song, read this list, and switched songs hours before. Sure enough, the girl before me sang the song I almost did. Whew.


I will add, though, this was a show audition, not college. In my experience and from what I've heard, auditions for shows are more lenient when it comes to singing popular repertoire. I have a friend who frequently auditioned with "What Baking Can Do" and absolutely KILLED it every single time. Thus, my final recommendation: if it is your best song, use it. Just keep in mind that choosing a rarer song could give you an edge.


For musical theater, I tend to start with what I know. What shows/songs do I like that aren't on Broadway right now? Lists like these are always super helpful. My voice teacher knows a lot more about shows than I do, so always consult your teachers first. Chances are, they know your voice better than you. Sometimes I'll start a bit broader, too. If the college wants a golden age song for auditions, I'll surf Wikipedia for a full list of golden-age musicals and start weeding through. As a rule, I never stick with my first choice. This might be different for you, of course. If you have a killer song that you adore, by all means, use it! I've simply found that the perfect audition song isn't always the one I think it is. Always do your research!


As far as picking songs for YOUR voice, this is more of a technical question. It's really about where the song sits in your register. I have a pretty dark mix that pairs nicely with mezzo classical songs and legit musical theater songs. This was really a journey about finding my favorite parts of my voice. What songs do you finish and feel amazing about afterwards? What chorus feels the most comfortable? What emotions can your voice convey best? What part of your voice gives you that *zing*, that burst of energy, that whirl of confidence? These are all questions to ask yourself. And, keep in mind, your voice is constantly changing. In fact, it will continue changing well into your twenties. Your best song from 8th grade may not be your best song anymore. Know yourself, and know your voice.


Alright. Classical repertoire. Here we go.


Classical songs warrant a MUCH different approach than musical theater. Especially for college and some vocal contests, from what I understand, it is almost always required to sing out of specific books/suggested books. The "First book of _____ Solos" series is a staple in the classical voice community, as is the 24 Italian Art songs book and pretty much anything under the G. Schirmer publication. These music faculty boards want to see potential through songs that they know you can knock out. Now, this does mean that these music faculty will hear "Caro Mio Ben" enough times to keel over, (A professor said that to me), but they don't want you singing an aria before you are ready. That same professor told me "Singing an aria warrants the assumption that you can sing the entire operatic role". This may not always be true, but it's good to keep in mind. Opera singers aren't hired for large roles until they're well into their twenties/early thirties. For now, choosing classical pieces is about killing the song without the song killing you.


This also goes to show that these songs aren't a walk in the park by any means. Art songs can be as hard as any operatic aria. Don't ever let anyone tell you that Art songs are easy. They take so much work and dedication. I have a bad habit of over-singing my contest pieces- which leads me to absolutely despise them. Don't do this. If you are starting to hate a piece you used to love, step back and work on something else before you lose the song completely.


I hope that my banter/brain dump helps you guys in some form or fashion. I love talking about this kind of stuff- you can expect to see more technical advice posts in the future!


This week's #songforthesoul is the BYU singers' rendition of Ivo Antognini's "Alleluia". I preformed this one with the Missouri All-State choir this year and it has been firmly stuck in my head every since.


Be safe, and as always, happy reading!


Arden

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page